Hey Everybody. I was recently interviewed by Ultralingua recently. Click here for the link to the interview. See below for an excerpt!

UL: What do you find to be the most compelling reason to raise a child bilingually?

BP: I think it is a shame that children come with this tremendous talent to learn more than one language, and so few of us take advantage of it. For me personally, since I don’t live in an international family with roots in two cultures, the most compelling reason is to make the child a better citizen of the world. I think knowing two languages – and learning them “naturally” – really gives the child a more open and accepting outlook on others. It also gives children a better sense of what is special about their own culture. For families who have two languages by birth, being bilingual means the children don’t have to choose one side over the other. They can have both.